Thread: Canon 30d vs Canon T5?

Real Name
    Amy

Canon 30d vs Canon T5?

hello. I am a semi-novice photographer who was given a used canon 30d about a year ago by a professional photographer friend who upgraded. I love this camera and find that it takes pretty decent photos (considering the very standard lenses I have). What I am wondering is would it be considered an upgrade to move from the 30d to a T5? I know that the Rebel series are considered beginner DSLR cameras but the T5 has more MP and a few other options that the 30d does not. I am trying to get started with doing some professional-ish work and I am wondering if I would be losing much going to a T5 vs the 30d I am currently using.

Real Name
    William (call me Bill)

Re: Canon 30d vs Canon T5?

1. What Lens(es) do you have?

2. What Jobs do you intend taking on?

3. What is your Budget?

Sure the 1200D is a much newer sensor, bit that doesn’t mean that the 30D is incapable of producing saleable images, I still sell images out of my 20D, so your money might be well spent on a newer camera, but it might be better spent elsewhere, depending on various elements, the main three being the answers to the questions above.

Notwithstanding those points, the FUNCTIONALITY of the 1200D is different to the 30D and that might not be something that you either like or it might be as suitable for your intended work.

The 1200D does have a few options that the 30D doesn't have, the 30D has a few options that the 1200D does not, Spot Metering is one, that would be important to me, for example.

WW

Real Name
    wm c boyer

Good glass comes first as bodies come and go, then learn post processing...then a new camera.

Real Name
    Richard

I agree with Bill and Chauncey! The 30D is still a very viable camera that is capable, when combined with good lenses, of producing very good to excellent imagery! The operative statement is "WHEN COMBINED WITH TOP-LINE LENSES!"