Thread: Question

Real Name
    Bruce

Question

I have a photo I shot in the summer of 2014 of a mother, and son. Before posting a photo on CiC, I usually ask the subject of the photo if they mind if I post the photo. Since I own the copyright, and am not trying to sell this photo, do I really need to get permission from the subject(s)?
    In this particular case of the mother, and son (child), I am having difficulty getting hold of them since they live in another state.

Bruce
    Last edited by Digital; 3rd August 2015 at 11:28 PM.

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Re: Question

I'm not a lawyer, but my understanding is that if it was legal for you to take the photo without obtaining permission, it's legal for you to display it so long as you aren't using it for commercial gain.

Real Name
    Bruce

Mike, thanks for your response. I am not planning to use this photo for any type of commercial gain.

Bruce

Real Name
    Bill

Bruce, The answer may well depend on the jurisdiction in which the image was captured and used. My understanding of the situation in the UK is that you can photograph members of the public in public locations and do what you like with the image (including sell it) provided that you do not misrepresent the circumstances. Photographs of "celebrities" are a bit different.

However, this is not legal advice and I'd certainly recommend that you be certain about what applies in the US.

Chesterfield, Missouri/Melbourne, Australia
    Real Name
    Izzie

Think of street photographers. Do they really ask permission from the people whom they photographed if they can display it here at CiC or any other forum? Go figure...

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Bruce,

Quite apart from the legal angle: The moral principle I would apply is; would I object* if the scene (taken by someone else) depicted featured myself (or my wife) plus my child?

* e.g. I might object if the pose were embarrassing, humiliating, private, etc.