Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wouldn't it be nice...Nikon v Canon

Real Name
    Adrian

Wouldn't it be nice...Nikon v Canon

I have been following another thread about the new 5DS, which once again raised the comparison between cameras of today and the near future from Canon, Nikon and sometimes Sony.

For reasons lost in the mists of time (but possibly because I did not like the red flash on the face of Nikon cameras...I know, a silly reason!) I happened to plump for Canon years ago and have stuck with that brand since then as acquiring lenses gradually locks you in. Now I have a fairly full range of L glass and so it would be illogical to switch brand.

However, this does not stop me being curious about, for example, what it would be like to have a Nikon 810, or whether I would prefer Nikon. Or is Sony is ultimately a better way forward for lighter bodies and glass and high performing sensors.

I am not a professional and could not justify changing, as the lump behind the camera is the main limiting factor, but I wonder if other members sometimes have a similar dilemma and how you dealt with it.

Adrian

Real Name
    John

Re: Wouldn't it be nice...Nikon v Canon

Knowing what you know now, couldn't you make the change with only one lens? Meaning you could get by with only needing one lens. I'm not saying I could; just wonder if anyone could.

Real Name
    Tom

Quote Originally Posted by Shadowman View Post
    Knowing what you know now, couldn't you make the change with only one lens? Meaning you could get by with only needing one lens. I'm not saying I could; just wonder if anyone could.