Thread: What gear to use/tips on indoor/outdoor residential photography?

What gear to use/tips on indoor/outdoor residential photography?

Hi! I'm new to the world of photography but luckily I have been given the chance to learn!

I started working for a company that sells and installs home automation stuff, in-ceiling/wall speakers, wall mounted TVs, lighting products, ect. My boss owns a really nice DSLR with some different lens and has tasked me with going to our customers homes and shooting what we've done there.

Here are some examples of what I'll need to be shooting (Just go through the gallery on this sites page):
    http://www.structuresdb.com/residential/

I think this style is refered to as residential photography. Basically I'll be taking pictures of the whole room, then some focusing on what we've installed.

Right now I am currently using a Canon EOS 70D. The lens we have are both Canons: EFS 18-135mm (standard zoom) & EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM (telephoto zoom). What lens and or anything else do I need to buy for me to get that quality? If that is possible with my current camera. I think I can learn the basic stuff from this website (Already skimmed over the tutorials but still have alot to learn). Also is photoshop something I should look into or can I get away with something free like Paint.Net?

Thanks for taking the time to read!

Real Name
    Haseeb Modi

Re: What gear to use/tips on indoor/outdoor residential photography?

Welcome to CiC and we all like to share our real name here. On the subject, an 18-135mm should cover most of your requirements and you will definitely need a tripod for those indoor shots with lights on to get the ambience correct.

Real Name
    William (call me Bill)

Hi, welcome to CiC.

Quote Originally Posted by RefuseToConform View Post