Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Lydia

Real Name
    Kristy

Re: Lydia

Quote Originally Posted by bnnrcn View Post
    Hi Kristy. I'm not experienced in portrait shooting , but I have to tell you that you have a lovely daughter. Although other members commented to improve the image technically( this is what you needed anyway), I think your daughter improves the image emotionally a lot with her looks . I also like how you framed the shot, may be the image wouldn't look so powerful if you inclueded all of her head in the frame.
    Thanks Binnur! I chose a very tight frame in order to exclude the busy/distracting background, and because I wanted the focus to be on her face rather than the surroundings.

Real Name
    Kristy

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Buckley View Post
    Such a beautiful child and a photo that can be of such high quality that your family will always treasure it!

Children move around a lot and in this case your subject is looking to the left, perhaps only at the last second. If you had pulled back a bit you could have allowed for the child to look either right or left. If you had done that, you could have then cropped so the gaze is toward the negative space, unlike here where there is no negative space for the child to "look into."

I completely disagree that the aperture of f/13 is too small. It's only too small if your goal was a smaller depth of field. The depth of field here is just fine, very attractive.

You were shooting at 1/400 second, so that stopped your child's action as I believe you'll see in my version of your image shown below. Even so, I always try to use 1/500 for young children. The speed you chose is also fast enough with regard for hand holding your focal length. Using a larger aperture wouldn't have helped with regard to shutter speed because it is already fast enough.