Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Flashing

Real Name
    J stands for John

Re: Flashing

I would disagree with Manfred about composition not being part of motion picture work If we accept that the positioning of the subject in frame is composition it is a vital aspect as to how the scenes will cut together and I write from 26years as an editor without wishing to contradict Manfred's other points. As an editor I rate directional continuity as a most desirable aspect for the flow of the narrative ... frequently ignored unfortunately by TV as opposed to the crafted single-camera production.
    I might be tempted to suggest that composition appears to be ignored or unknown in many stills ... but perhaps I should not

As for flashing giving the 'old fashioned detail in the shadows' I simply do not know and anyway am suspicious of people introducing films on TV but I give credit to the Lighting Cameraman who carefully lights the scene with enough light to let us see into the shadows without it being dreadfully obvious.
    Last edited by jcuknz; 25th February 2015 at 07:15 AM.

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

I have now received The Negative -- Basic Photo Two by Ansel Adams. The pre-exposure process discussed in this thread is explained on pages 109 and 110 of that book. The explanation by James Bullard of that process accessed by the link provided by Richard is reasonably consistent with the explanation in the book.

An important clarification not mentioned in the Bullard piece is provided in the Ansel Adams book: "Pre-exposure is thoroughly satisfactory for supporting small areas of shadow in which an impression of substance and texture is not imperative; but for large shadow areas it may show a false tonality, in which the appearance of a considerable area of uniform tone without texture or substance gives an illusion of allover fog."