Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Portrait lens help

Portrait lens help

I have a Nikon D5000 w/ the kit lens (AF-S Nikkor 18-55) right now and am looking at getting another lens. I am new to photography but am mostly interested in taking portrait photography of kids & families. I like close-ups and full length shots. I can't afford top of the line, but also don't want to spend any amount of money if it isn't going to be good quality-so I guess you can say I am trying to get the most bang for the buck! Any suggestions on what would be the next best lens to get?

Real Name
    Sahil Jain

Re: Portrait lens help

I am thinking of buying a 50mm f1.8. Its the cheapest lens and has some real good reviews. I read that its good for portraits too. Its under $100. I too would like to see what others have to say!

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Brenny,

Quote Originally Posted by brenny130 View Post
    I like close-ups and full length shots. I can't afford top of the line, but also don't want to spend any amount of money if it isn't going to be good quality-so I guess you can say I am trying to get the most bang for the buck! Any suggestions on what would be the next best lens to get?
    Given the lens you have and its focal length range, I'd be inclined to go for something a little longer, as well as faster.

The kit lens will do groups and full length adequately since I'd guess the shallow DoF of a faster lens won't be quite so essential for those.

Since you are a D5000 owner like me, in order to have auto-focus, you need to make sure you only buy an "AF-S" lens - I'd suggest that while cheaper manual focus lenses might be attractive financially, many s/h ones - while good IQ lenses, won't even allow the D5000 to light meter. Check out the D5000 owners manual.

If you want candid close ups of the kids while they're occupied (and without distracting them) I'd suggest the 105mm f2.8 VR AF-S Macro (about £600).