Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Minimum equipment list?

Minimum equipment list?

I'm a relatively inexperienced photographer with aspirations of someday producing pro-quality photos. While it might be nice to go out and buy a lot of fancy equipment, that really isn't an option; I can only acquire things over time (like, years) as my budget allows. Also, I'm something of a minimalist, and I'd rather have one piece of equipment that can do the job of two, even if it won't do it quite as well.

Right now I have a Pentax K-7 with 18-55 weather resistant lens. For editing I have Corel Aftershot, and a Spyder 3 screen calibrator which unfortunately doesn't give very good results with my laptop screen. My main area of photographic interest is anything outside: landscapes, wildlife, sailboats, trains. I often walk in remote, rugged areas and have to carry my gear in a pack.

My question is, what is the minimum equipment that I NEED right now, to take at least pretty good photos and give me a chance to improve my skill? What should I get as soon as it's convenient? And what can wait a while?

Real Name
    rob ashcroft

Re: Minimum equipment list?

Quote Originally Posted by One Sock View Post
    My question is, what is the minimum equipment that I NEED right now, to take at least pretty good photos and give me a chance to improve my skill?
    Sorry, I don't mean to be critical, but any DSLR camera costing around £400+ (or £200 used) would take pretty good pictures. If you gave David Bailey or Annie Leibovitz your K7 I bet they could take some cracking shots with it. That sentence I quoted above seems to imply that you need better equipment to improve your skills. Is that really what you meant?

Real Name
    Tom

A decent lightweight tripod and a camera cable release seem like good choices to start with.

Quote Originally Posted by ashcroft View Post