Thread: Advice for printing B&W

Real Name
    Tony Marshall

Advice for printing B&W

Hi all.

I'd like to print the below B&W image in a classical style; i.e., narrow black border, fairly wide passe-partout (mount) and on paper. I've never done this before and would welcome any advice. I'd like it professionally printed at something like 60 x 40cm (must be ratio 1.5). Questions that come to mind are:

1. What kind and brand of paper? I presume matt but are there different types?
    2. What should I look for in a print service? I live in Madrid so local is probably best.
    3. Is my photo suitable to print as is, or should I make adjustments to tone etc?
    4. What else should I ask?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Tony

Advice for printing B&W

Real Name
    Dan

Re: Advice for printing B&W

Once you find a lab near enough, I recommend that you have a bunch of small prints done on different papers to see what you like. There is no 'right' answer. Different people prefer different papers, and what works for one image might not for another. I don't print much black and white, but my default preference is for high-whitener luster or satin papers, which remind me a lot of the Agfa Brovira paper I used to use in my wet-darkroom days. But that is only my preference.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

The other thing to think about with papers is the crispness of your print. As this is an architectural work, I would be tempted to print on glossy paper and that will give you a very crisp looking image. Matt papers are more suitable for portraits, where you want a slightly softer look. If glossy is not a look you want, try a luster paper, which will still give a decently crisp reproduction without the shine of a glossy paper.

A highly textured paper will result in a very soft image and may not give you the look you want for this type of image.