Thread: Why does the D700 retain such a high pre owned price

Real Name
    Jeremy Rundle

Why does the D700 retain such a high pre owned price

!!!!!!!!!!!!

Real Name
    John

Re: Why does the D700 retain such a high pre owned price

It may depend on particular seller and location. In the U.S. through Amazon I've seen used prices from $600-1,200; some from private sellers and a few from Adorama. New and refurbished models tend to retain higher prices.

Why?
    Because even though they are relatively 'old' design cameras, they are still very capable ones which even newer ones have a hard time matching.

Real Name
    Phil Page

Err

Because they're good!

Real Name
    Grahame

Err

Because people are prepared to pay the price

Real Name
    Phil Page

Methinks Jeremy is in a provocative mood again ;-)

Real Name
    Trevor Reeves

I am not a techie type so all the technical comparison stuff bores me to tears and could not compare the merits of one camera to another to save my life. So take this for what it is worth.

I own a D700 and when I bought it the clerk at the store said Nikon had messed up by making the D700 a professional quality build (rugged metal body, great seals, great controls and shooting options) and then pricing it at the advanced amateur price point. She said a lot of the pros in Alberta were buying them as a second body or buying two or three to use with one lens permanently attached to quickly switch focal lengths. They were not buying the $8000 D3X but were buying three $2500 D700s instead.

True or not, the D700 was quickly discontinued as part of the Nikon lineup.