Thread: New from South Essex, UK

Real Name
    John

New from South Essex, UK

I am a retired University Lecturer in Animal Biology & Conservation. As you might expect, my main photographic interests have been in wildlife, but also in the landscape of places that I have visited. I have been taking photographs for over 50 years, but have not given much thought to photographic composition until recently. Most of my photos have been just recording what was there. I include here a couple of what I think are the more interesting images that I have taken. Mainly this is for historical reasons, the subject matter is either no longer there, or is of very restricted access.

The Old Severn Bridge in the Mist
    New from South Essex, UK

The Little Man in Reeds Cave, South Devon
    New from South Essex, UK

I now use a combination of a Sony A55 DSLR, and a Canon Powershot SX260 HS.
    Last edited by JohnRostron; 23rd November 2014 at 12:22 PM.

Real Name
    Dave

Re: New from South Essex, UK

Hi John and a warm welcome to CiC. I see you have already started commenting in the forums, which is great because sharing and supporting is what we are all about. You sound as though you have an interesting background - there is an amazing range of experience and talent here too.

Like your sample images, especially the "little man"

Dave

Chesterfield, Missouri/Melbourne, Australia
    Real Name
    Izzie

A nice warm welcome John...Interesting shots you have here...the second photograph is your avatar too. I like that first one too if I have to choose between the two because mists and fogs gives that mysterious mood to a shot...and this one is really good in that although the end is practically covered in the mists, there is still some shadows left to the imagination of the viewer (me) to decipher what might be there...

Real Name
    John