Thread: dear member

Real Name
    Manjunath.N

dear member

I am an ameture photographer - wish to know what is DX format and Fx format, i have Nikon - D7000 camera, i would also like to know what is crop factor and how to calculate

Real Name
    Phil Page

Re: dear member

An FX camera is fitted with a 35mm film sized sensor.

A DX camera has a smaller sensor.

The crop factor is the ratio between FX and DX sensor size = x1.5 in the case of Nikon

Therefore if you use a 50mm lens on a FX camera, the equivalent focal length on a DX camera to record the same image is 50 / 1.5 = roughly a 35mm

(edited by a half asleep DX and FX owning dumb a@@!)
    Last edited by dubaiphil; 12th November 2014 at 02:38 PM.

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Quote Originally Posted by dubaiphil View Post
    Therefore if you use a 50mm lens on a FX camera, the equivalent focal length on a DX camera to record the same image is 50 x 1.5 = 75mm
    To record the same image using a DX camera, you would use a 33.5mm focal length (33.5 x 1.5 = 50).

Real Name
    Haseeb Modi

Also note the 50mm on a DX camera though gives you a view equivalent to 75mm, it is only giving you the field of view of a 75mm on a full frame, not necessarily magnifying it.

Real Name
    Phil Page

haha - I'm being a dumb a@@!

Real Name
    Mrinmoy

No matter how much digital photography progresses, it is always compared to old 35mm films.
    Sensor which resembles the size of 35mm film is full frame sensor also called as FX.
    DX sensors are smaller in size. which means at a specific focal length, you will get wider angle of view on FX as compared to DX.
    You know that all lenses are circular and hence capture circular image.
    However sensors being rectangular in shape, store only rectangular part of that circle.

Consider a FX lens (circle) fitted on a FX sensor camera (will capture image equal to biggest rectangle drawn inside the circle, all 4 edges will touch the circle)