Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stacking exercise

Real Name
    Rudi

Stacking exercise

Up till now I stacked my photo's in PS CS. Reading that there ar better programs to the job, I tried Zerene Stacker and Helicon focus. And I was a bit surprised about the outcome. Because I have no experience with Zerene nor Helicon I guess I am doing something wrong.....Can someone shed some light on this ????

As exercise, I stacked 3 pictures of a hoverfly, jpg out off camera, no other PP has been done. Pictures were taken outside, handheld.

1: Stacked in CS6
    Stacking exercise

2: Stacked in Zerene Pmax
    Stacking exercise

3: Stacked in Helicon Meth A, R8, S6
    Stacking exercise
    Last edited by rudi; 11th October 2014 at 11:30 AM.

Real Name
    Edit is OK… always want to learn!

Re: Stacking exercise

Quote Originally Posted by rudi View Post
    Can someone shed some light on this ????
    The light I will shed is on your test protocol. HORRIBLE!
    You are working against yourself, your software… and you are expecting
    miracles.

Obviously here, some movements were induced while capturing since the
    three take do not stack correctly. By focus stacking, immobility is a must
    since no software will stretch or skew a slice to make it fit among the others.

Rudi, do such tests with absolutely immobile subjects and immobile camera.

I would be very interested to see your new tests with the same softwares. I
    went through this some years ago and selected one of your three candidates.

Real Name
    Rudi

Quote Originally Posted by Kodiak View Post
    The light I will shed is on your test protocol. HORRIBLE!
    You are working against yourself, your software… and you are expecting
    miracles.

Obviously here, some movements were induced while capturing since the
    three take do not stack correctly. By focus stacking, immobility is a must
    since no software will stretch or skew a slice to make it fit among the others.