Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Advice please, D810 post process

Real Name
    Tak Fujiwara

Advice please, D810 post process

Got a Nikon D810, started to use Capture NX-D, but disappointed.
    Am a long user of a Canon high-end camera with DPP, which is a fairly good software.
    Am also use Photoshop CS4 and CS6 for touch up and editing such as focus stacking etc.

NX-D on the other hand is a disaster. It takes about 30 seconds to just display 50-100% zoom-up for focus verification. Many other disadvantages in post process keeps me off from this software.

Now, as I am new to Nikon, I wold be great if gurus here advice me practical solution to this problem. What is a recommended process flow?
    Can LightRoom then Photoshop be a candidate?

Tak Fujiwara

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Advice please, D810 post process

Actually, Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) is what most people would use as a RAW converter; this is of course part of the Photoshop package. The Lightroom Develop Module and ACR functionality are built on an identical engine, so this would certainly work; assuming that you are using a version of either software that has the D810 drivers. This means Photoshop CC2014 or Lightroom 5, not the earlier versions you have listed.

If you don't like Capture NX-D (I haven't tried it), there are other RAW converters that you could consider. I also use DxO Optics Pro 9 and Phase One Capture One. Both will also support this camera's RAW data.

Real Name
    Tak Fujiwara

>not the earlier versions you have listed.

CS4 requires DNG, but CS6 with Camera Raw 8.6.0.254 seems handling D810 NEF, as my trial.
    Is there any problem on CS6 to deal with D810 NEF?
    If it works, can I use LR5.6 with CS6? (I do not own LR)

Did not know DxO and Phase One Capture One. Will investigate them, too.
    Tak

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller