Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Macro Lens for D3100

Real Name
    Matt

Macro Lens for D3100

Hello

I am looking to purchase a macro lens for my D3100, I don't want to spend a huge amount as I am just a beginner.

I have done a bit of research and I am considering getting the Nikon AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G Lens.

Any views or recommendations?

Thanks

Real Name
    Grahame

Re: Macro Lens for D3100

That's a rather strange choice for a beginner Matt, do you have a specific reason for choosing the 40mm as the working distance is going to be rather close.

What are you intended subjects?

Grahame

Real Name
    Matt

Quote Originally Posted by Stagecoach View Post
    That's a rather strange choice for a beginner Matt, do you have a specific reason for choosing the 40mm as the working distance is going to be rather close.

What are you intended subjects?

Grahame

Hi Grahame,

I read a few reviews and I came to the conclusion that this was a good lens for someone "testing the water" so to speak in macro photography?

I don't really have any specific subjects, would just like to try my hand at it.

Can you recommend a lens?

Real Name
    Grahame

Quote Originally Posted by Rebel View Post
    Hi Grahame,

I read a few reviews and I came to the conclusion that this was a good lens for someone "testing the water" so to speak in macro photography?

I don't really have any specific subjects, would just like to try my hand at it.

Can you recommend a lens?
    Matt,

The most common focal length macro lens is in the range 90 to 105. This focal length gives you a good working distance at around 300mm at the maximum 1:1 magnification ratio.

There are both shorter and longer focal lengths which have their purpose.