Thread: How could I have taken a better image?

Real Name
    Glenn

How could I have taken a better image?

The above question I posted on a PC forum with a photography section and was advised to join here as you are a helpful bunch.

I am very new to DSLR cameras and currently have a Canon EOS 350D with a EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5 IS lens and I also have a EF-S 55-250mm zoom lens and 58mm 0.45x Wide Angle & Macro HD Conversion Lens . The last one I am not really sure of it's purpose.

the question concerned this image.

How could I have taken a better image?

I spotted a squirrel from my living room window, I live on the first floor by the way, running across a piece of grass with a slice of bread in it's mouth heading for the tree where I believe it has it's home. The tree is about 50'-60' feet away I estimate.

By the time I had got my camera it was upside down on the tree looking at this slice of bread. I suspect that I was on a hiding to nothing with this shot and a much better one would of been of the squirrel bread in mouth running through the grass which would have meant better contrast. I doubt whether I could have taken much better given my woeful level of expertise so really looking for general simple help. First steps so to speak.

AT the moment I know nothing of focal points, aperture speeds, exposures and the like. I have just printed off the manual but much of it assumes you are confident with the terminology which I am not. But am going though it all the same.

Real Name
    John

Re: How could I have taken a better image?

Hi Glenn,

Which lens did you use, camera settings? First observation would be to get closer.

Real Name
    Edit is OK… always want to learn!

Quote Originally Posted by Shadowman View Post
    …First observation would be to get closer.
    +1 …or zoom-in! These are very swift and most of the time shy…

Real Name
    wm c boyer

Squirrels come and go, there will always be another one come along, but...next time plan ahead.