Thread: screen calibration for iMAC

Real Name
    David Blake

screen calibration for iMAC

Do I need to buy a colorimeter such as a Spyder or colormunki for my 2014 iMAC?

Apple seem to think that the integral software is fine, but other folk say that this is not sufficient. Spyder make them for MAC, so presumably they are used!

I have recently had images rejected for being too dark and both commercial print firms I used wanted to know if I had calibrated my monitor. I had not because I did not think MAC needed it. They disagree.

So, confusion reigns.

If I need to use hardware to calibrate my iMAC, which tool / brand would you recommend?

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: screen calibration for iMAC

Hi David - profile and calibrate. That is an absolute MUST DO, regardless of what Apple (incorrectly) says.

If the images you have delivered are too dark, then your screen is set too bright and this is definitely your issue. I've been using my rather ancient x-Rite i1 for many years; both products you are looking at should work just fine.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Just what Manfred says.

Apple may be thinking about everyday use and/orbe thinking about people who do party-type mobile phone photography. For anything approaching even semi-serious amateur photography, then you need to ensure your monitor is in the right place.

Real Name
    David Blake

Thank you! That's cleared it up for me.

Real Name
    Randy Butters

David,

The dark/light issue has been my primary concern as well. I now calibrate regularly with the Spyder device/utility. That does not help with the darkness which seems to come about as a result of the bright display of my laptop. Hard proofing along with adjusting the brightness setting helps.

Maybe someone has some tips on that: managing the brightness for printing.

Real Name
    Edit is OK… always want to learn!

Hi David,

Very good question… I asked myself the same at an earlier point! The proper