Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Need advice on camera software

Real Name
    Bernardo Freire de Andrade

Need advice on camera software

Hi!
    I'm not a pro neither an amateur, I use photography for work. I'm an architect and mainly photograph buildings under construction. After using my Nikon FM2 for decades I started using occasionally my brothers Canons 350D(Rebel XT) and 400D(Rebel XTi). I recently bought a 600D(T3i) and a Canon zoom lens EF-S 17-55mm, f2.8, I also bought for my wife a Canon PowerShot S110, I'm pleased with both and my question is related with the software provided with the cameras meaning that now I have installed at least seven different programs that do almost the same thing: 600D - Digital Photo Professional; ZoomBrowser EX; EOS Utility and Picture Style Editor; S110; Digital Photo Professional; ImageBrowser EX and Map Utility.
    How do you usually managed this?

Sincerely
    Bernardo Andrade

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

re: Need advice on camera software

Generally the software provided by the camera makers is fairly basic and most people progress to something a bit more sophisticated.

While there are many different packages out there, some online (Picassa), some free (or shareware) GIMP and some commercial applications that one buys (or in the case of the higher end Adobe packages), subscribes to on a monthly basis. In terms of pure numbers, the Adobe packages; Photoshop Elements, Photoshop Lightroom and Photoshop are probably the most popular in terms of the number of users and covers all skill levels from casual photographer to grahics artist.

Real Name
    Denny