Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do you choose a genre in photography? I click everything now.

Real Name
    Keshan

How do you choose a genre in photography? I click everything now.

Holla People,

I'm with this age old question of how to choose what works the best for you. I'm a photography aspirant and i've been clicking for close to 3 years now. By profession i'm a software engineer and i do part-time with photography. I click for events, weddings, street photography, travel, and random stuffs.

When i think about taking photography as my career, i think about making a decision of which genre suits the best for me and i couldn't make a choice. Since I like clicking everything, i'm not able to choose between them to select one and leave behind the rest.

Is it a healthy practice to click everything or should a photographer make a choice with the genres?

Real Name
    Victor Nimitz

Re: How do you choose a genre in photography? I click everything now.

Hi Keshan,

If as you said you're going into photography as a career, I guess this answers what genre.

click for events, weddings, street photography, travel, and random stuffs.
    However , if you're asking us about what you want, most likely, we aren't the best persons
    to answer.

Real Name
    Phil Page

This is something that a lot of amateur photographers have surely debated

There can be a great difference between what you like to 'click' and what 'clicks' earn bucks - dependent on your location, local market, competition etc.

So finding a niche or non saturated market segment that has a potentially profitable customer base in your area and with subject material that you are interested in shooting is the ideal.

What you will find is that a survey of pro photographers will spend only a minute proportion of their time 'clicking' - the vast majority of time being marketing, advertising, promotion, processing and other admin.