Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is GIMP a viable PP program for photography?

Real Name
    Shawn

Is GIMP a viable PP program for photography?

Hello all,

I am new to photography, and figure along with learning aperture/shutter/iso-composition, etc. I should get started with post processing.

The thing is, photoshop is a pretty penny, and $ is tight right now. I downloaded GIMP a while back to do some graphic work, and found it to be useful for making graphics, like logos & banner ad type things. My understanding is that GIMP is an open source program that has similar capabilities to photoshop, though maybe not as advanced.

Do any of you out there use this program to post process your photos? Do any of you that are experienced think that this program is viable, or is it not suitable?

I may be able to acquire Aperture, or Lightroom, but since I already have GIMP, I'm wondering if I should delve into really learning it.

Thanks!

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Is GIMP a viable PP program for photography?

Quote Originally Posted by Southpaw View Post
    The thing is, photoshop is a pretty penny, and $ is tight right now.
    Great news - Photoshop has moved to a subscription basis, so you don't need to fork out hundreds of dollars to buy it and hundreds more each year to update it; you can subscribe to the Photographer package which gives you the latest version of Photoshop CC and Lightroom for USD $9.99 a month.

Real Name
    Andrew

Hello Shawn,