Thread: Learning portrait shots:

Real Name
    Andre Burger

Learning portrait shots:

I am still learning to shoot portraits using a single on camera flash.

My SB80 does not function in TTL on my D200. I am now looking for a good used SB900.

I shot this, bouncing flash from a wall and the ceiling.
    EXIF: 1/250sec, f5.6, ISO160, Nikkor 18-135mm lens at 80mm, Manual mode.

Any suggestion on improving on this shot will be much appreciated.

Learning portrait shots:

Real Name
    John

Re: Learning portrait shots:

You need more of a challenge, get some skin tones without makeup.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

The shot seems to have worked for you. I find using bounce light off of walls and ceilings a bit tricky for portrature. I suspect that the right side might be a bit hot; but that could just be due to the plastic texture of the doll.

The shot is getting slightly into a more dramatic lighting, and it drops off quite quickly from right to left. I would be interested to see what would happen if you put a white bounce card just to the left of the doll (and out of the image) to see if that pushed a bit of light in from the left side.

The D80 can be optically slaved; so you can easily get it off camera. While it is not the most modern technology (I think it is about 12 years old); I understand that it is a very robust unit. So get it off camera and try using it off camera and try to trigger it with the pop-up flash (use a white card on it to keep the light off the subject, but still able to fire the SB-80).
    Last edited by Manfred M; 10th April 2014 at 07:08 PM. Reason: oops - mixed up left and right.

Real Name
    John

If triggered as Manfred suggest you could use the cameras built in flash - assuming it has one - for fill light which will help even things up for you.

I'm assuming that the built in flash can be used purely manually at a fixed low power level. Ideally it should have a diffuser fitted - cleanex tissue etc.