Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Am I on the right track?

Real Name
    Julius

Am I on the right track?

Hi, everyone. I am really glad that I found this site; it's quickly become a first resource when I have a question about how something works. As I am brand new to all of this (shooting with a DSLR instead of a phone, any kind of processing of a picture... all of it), I've been trying to take it slowly and figuring out the camera, and how to capture the best shot possible. Recently, I've been pouring through the digital photo editing workflow to see how to get the most out of the shots I've been capturing. So, I got a shot that I was really glad to capture, and tried to work through the workflow to see how I did, following the guide step by step. I did this only using ViewNX 2 (My camera is a Nikon D3200) and the included tools, and I'd like some feedback on how the results look.

First, here's an export of the raw file that I started with from ViewNX2 with no edits:
    Am I on the right track?

So, after following step by step through the Post-processing workflow guide, this is what I ended up with:
    Am I on the right track?

So, what I'd like to know is am I on the right track with the whole post processing thing?

This is a view down the street where I live early in the morning. What I was really trying to capture is the way the lower clouds captured the early morning sun, reflecting all of the red tones against a blue background. So it was really important to me that the different levels of the clouds and sky had some depth to them. Is there anything I could have done to better achieve this effect?

How much of a difference could I expect in using some other tool besides ViewNX2 (Lightroom, Photoshop, or some combination)?

As I mentioned, I'm completely brand new to all of this, so any input that can be shared is greatly appreciated.

Also, just for reference, here's the camera output of the JPEG when I shot the picture: