Thread: Samyang 500mm/800mm in Astrophotography

Real Name
    Chris

Samyang 500mm/800mm in Astrophotography

Hi there, does anyone have experience using Samyang 500mm/800mm mirror lenses on DSLR (APS-C) for astrophotography ? They're dirt cheap (comparatively), but what's the bang for the buck compared to other solutions ?

Real Name
    John

Re: Samyang 500mm/800mm in Astrophotography

I used the 500mm Rokinon and it'll do the job. You may require a filter for more contrast.

Real Name
    James Edwards

Ati,
    I'm no great expert on this, but astronomical telescopes Schmidt/Cassegrain types are similar to catadioptric mirror lenses like the Samyang. The mirror systems though are as I understand it engineered to a much higher spec than the photographic mirror system. Additionally the mirror sizes are much larger than the photographic equivalent in order to get the light gathering capacity needed for astronomical observation.

So, it comes down to what you want to photograph .

If you want Moon shots with good detail a mirror lens will probably give a reasonable result at 500-800 mm. ( have only ever used a standard 500 mm telephoto for this rather than a catadioptric lens.)

I would guess from my experience using a 500 mm standard telephoto (Sigma) that you would not be able to get particularly good shots of, say, Jupiter and its moons, and you would certainly not get Saturn or its rings. To do that you really need a tripod mount with a drive to 'track' objects. Similarly photographing Star Clusters or the Orion Nebula say, would be rather difficult because of the required exposure times. Motorised tracking for any object like this is essential.

That just leaves wide field sky shots, and in simple terms the problem with mirror lenses is the fixed, relatively high aperture compared to standard lenses (which generally increases exposure times to capture star fields).