Thread: Help! Newbie with Mac OS 10.4, trying to use RAW from Canon EOS Rebel SL1

Help! Newbie with Mac OS 10.4, trying to use RAW from Canon EOS Rebel SL1

Hi all - my subject line basically says it all, but I am new to photography with a 'real' camera (so to speak) and I've just tried using RAW format starting today, basically so I can practice post-processing with it.

I have a Mac with OS 10.4, iPhoto v6 and GIMP v2.6.11. I have opened my pics with GIMP in RAW format but it's got that purple look to it and I don't know what steps are necessary to 'convert' it from RAW-looking format to how it looked on the camera after I took it.

Any and all suggestions would be very much appreciated! Thanks -
    -Willie

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Help! Newbie with Mac OS 10.4, trying to use RAW from Canon EOS Rebel SL1

Quote Originally Posted by Willie77 View Post
    Hi all - my subject line basically says it all, but I am new to photography with a 'real' camera (so to speak) and I've just tried using RAW format starting today, basically so I can practice post-processing with it.

I have a Mac with OS 10.4, iPhoto v6 and GIMP v2.6.11. I have opened my pics with GIMP in RAW format but it's got that purple look to it and I don't know what steps are necessary to 'convert' it from RAW-looking format to how it looked on the camera after I took it.

-Willie

Hi Willie - Welcome to CiC.

A RAW file essentially has NO in-camera manipulation done to it; no white balance, colour correction, sharpening, contrast, exposure adjustment, etc. You get a RAW file and import using a RAW converter (your camera should have come with one). You have to do you colour temperature adjustments here and "bake" that value into your output file.

Output a losssless format (usually 16-bit TIFF) file from the RAW converter and inport that into your photo editing software. This is where you have to make all the adjustments to make the image look the way you want to.