Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: 1st wedding as an amateur

Re: 1st wedding as an amateur

Leaving aside the technical issues of kit etc, I think you should see your other half/assistant as more than someone to hold stuff and change lenses. I have never shot a wedding, and don't intend to, but the first thing I found I wanted (well one of them) when I started shooting people was someone to watch for all the little things that can spoil a technically great shot: bra strap showing, hair out of place, someone/something in the background, holding back the kids/waiters who are about to run into the shot, closing the open door in the background etc, etc, etc. And she can also help keep track of the group shots that have to be taken.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Quote Originally Posted by wellsie82 View Post
    It also helps to skirt around another potential issue ive come across yesterday in that in AV or SP modes on the 6d (and 550d for that matter), the max iso is 400 which probably wouldn't be high enough (depending on ambient light levels of course).
    I'm confused - why is is your max ISO only 400?

i could, but they know what gear i have & im reluctant to obtain additional gear, essentially because of the cost & lack of time to learn it & test it
    Can't say I really follow your logic on this one; they surely can't cost a lot to rent, and in terms of learning how to use it, I can tell you now that even in "set and forget" automatic mode, it's doing to give you damn site better exposures that you're going to get with a manual system. The 600EX-RT will auto-zoom to account for focal length and the ETTL II metering is damn near bomb-proof; probably about the only tweak you'd need to make would be adding about -2/3 FEC if you're just using it for fill flash (which takes about 2 seconds to turn the dial 2 clicks).