Thread: Questions please

Real Name
    Terri

Questions please

I'm really new and have been reading that it is better to format the Sd card than delete photos...since I'm just starting out do you really advise doing that??? Not sure I understand the purpose of that?

Here's a real beginners question....when I'm taking a picture say of a bee on a flower, don't I focus on the bee...then go back and get him on the whole flower? Is the same true of taking a sunset...focus on the sky?

Re: Questions please

I use CF cards, but as I understand the principle. Formatting clears everything on your card so you start again with a 'new card'. So there is no chance of any corruption when overwriting previous images.

But this means you can't recover any previous images, with suitable software, if you should accidentally lose your downloaded files. However you can only recover images which haven't been overwritten.

I normally just delete files then shoot again next time without any problems. But I suppose doing a complete format now and then might be worth considering.

Second question is one of those 'it depends on the circumstances' answers.

Yes if photographing the sky, focus on the sky. But sometimes I want something in the foreground to be really sharp so I am willing to accept a little softness in the background sky, providing it isn't too severe.

Real Name
    Christina

H Terri,

With respect to the bee and the flower I try and think to myself if my image is all about the bee or all about the flower. If it is the flower I just try and capture the flower as beautifully and sharply focused as I can and try and keep the bee in the focus area. If it is going to be all about the bee I try to photograph the bee as close and as sharply as possible and think of the flower as a colourful background that will show off the bee.

Real Name
    William (call me Bill)