Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Photoshop Elements Selection tools

Real Name
    Wendy

Photoshop Elements Selection tools

Hello Elements users

I am working on an exercise I received recently, and am having a terrible time with the selection tools.

Could someone tell me which is the best selection tool to use to select a large area. I have been using the Quick Select tool, and it does what I want for awhile and then just goes off on its own and does not follow what I am trying to select.

By the way, this is my first attempt at trying this, so just some very basic tips to get me going will help a lot.

Thanks
    Wendy

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Photoshop Elements Selection tools

This should be interesting, as I struggle with selections too.

Hi Wendy,

Thanks for asking

I never know which to use!
    and I can never get the lasso tools to join up again
    So it's not just you

My most recent experience was on the bird the other day, which helped; I used the Quick Selection Tool, it seemed easier to select the snowy bits and modify the edges with the + and - bits until I had everything I didn't want selected, then I inverted to get the bird and used the Refine Edge dialog to smooth, expand and feather the edges.

Cheers,

Real Name
    Wendy

Thanks Dave: The bird is what I'm working on. I Was doing fine and learning a lot until I got to the selection tool.
    Thanks for your suggestions, I will keep muddling along until I figure it out. Knowing that it's not the simplest thing to do helps. I thought it was just me doing something wrong or selecting the wrong tool.

Unfortunatley my holidays are over, so I won't have so much time, but I'll get back to it as soon as possible.

Thanks again
    Wendy