Thread: Off the Bend

Real Name
    John

Off the Bend

I made the point in another post earlier today that these sort of shots are better wen you can see the riders eyes. These were the two images under discussion when I was given that advise by a photographer that does a lot of this sort of photography. I decided he was right but I would be interested if others agree. Both shots are panned. I was trying to determine which shutter speed gave the right combination of sharpness and blurred BG.

1/100th sec @f13 ISO200
    Off the Bend

1/200th @ f13 ISO 200
    Off the Bend

Real Name
    Dave Ellis

Re: Off the Bend

Hi John

They both look good to me but I probably do prefer the first. I've never done anything like this before but it seems to me you've mastered the art of panning pretty well. The shutter speeds you've used seem to give a good balance between sharpness of the bikes and motion blur of the background. The shots really do give a good impression of speed.

I'm inspired, I'm going to have to try this sometime !

Dave

PS : Did you fire off several shots whilst panning and also did you use any aid such as a monopod ? Was image stabilization on or off ?
    Last edited by dje; 3rd September 2013 at 03:18 AM.

Real Name
    Richard

Great captures...

Real Name
    Andre Burger

Well done John, very nice.
    The riders eyes behind a visor???? I don't know if I can with that.

Real Name
    Victor Nimitz

Awesome! Great shots!

Yes. you did get the rider's eyes in #01.
    Unfortunately, the 2nd had a dark visor.

Can you post photos with them entering or at the apex of the bend.
    From the front.

Thanks

( btw, what/where races were they? )
    Last edited by nimitzbenedicto; 3rd September 2013 at 10:37 AM.

Real Name
    Christina

Amazing images...

Real Name
    Adrian Asher

Nicely done John.

Super images, visible eyes with a good pan and nice motion blur, what more could you want.