Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brown Bears

Real Name
    Dan

Brown Bears

Earlier this week I flew over to Katmai NP for a couple of days to shoot some bears. I'm just getting started culling photos. Here are a couple of quickies.

D800E, 70-200 f2.8

f/13 @ 200 mm, 1/15, ISO 100
    Brown Bears

f/5.6 @ 200 mm, 1/1000, ISO 400
    Brown Bears

D800E, 200-400VR

f/5.6 @ 380 mm, 1/500, ISO 800
    Brown Bears

f/5.6 @ 400 mm, 1/320, ISO 800
    Brown Bears

Real Name
    Christina

Re: Brown Bears

Dan, these are gorgeous... Could you explain your chosen camera settings for these photos? I ask because I am going to try and photograph those Grizzly Bears at the wildlife sanctuary again, and although the Grizzlies are a lot darker I think I could learn something from this to apply to my bears...

It looks like you were extraordinary close... How did you manage that? And how in the world did you manage to achieve silky water and a sharp beautiful bear?

Thank you.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Impressive stuff, Dan.

Quote Originally Posted by Christina S View Post
    It looks like you were extraordinary close... How did you manage that?
    I was wondering that as well!

Real Name
    Bruce

Dan, real nice photos of a bear. He did not seem to mind that you were taking his "portrait".

Bruce

Real Name
    Kevin

I've heard they don't make good pets. If #2 was taken at 200mm, someone was pretty darn close!

Real Name
    Allan Short

Guys I think that you are missing something Dan put in his photo specs D800E 36MP worth of data, you can make that bear look real close with all those pixels.

Cheers:

Allan

Real Name
    Christina

I think he was real close, as the quality is superb and I don't think #1 or #3 are cropped.

Real Name
    Kevin

Could be, Dan. Still not used to seeing how much cropping 36 MP will allow and still display this well. I wonder if Dan might share one of the SOOC shots so we can see the crop?

Real Name
    Bruce