Thread: Share your lighting setups!

Real Name
    Kim Abbott

Share your lighting setups!

I've got an idea buzzing about in my head that I want to work on in the near future, but it will require a small tabletop lighting set up - a mini studio, I suppose. That got me thinking, though, about what the rest of you brilliant photographers have as a set up. I've seen just some incredible studio-controlled lighting shots on this forum, so I would LOVE to see what you use as a set up, and the images that you have produced from there!

Kim

Real Name
    Victor Nimitz

Re: Share your lighting setups!

Hi Kim,

Perhaps you can give us an idea of your present set-up and lights you're using.
    Plus some pix so far.

I'm interested in your thread because I'm just starting out with flash lighting.

Thanks

Vic

Real Name
    Phil Page

A basic and portable speedlight based setup for me:

Nikon SB700 x 2
    Nikon SB600 x 1
    Pocketwizard MiniTTi x 3
    Pocketwizard Flex x 1
    Pocketwizard AC3 Zone Controller x 1
    Lastolite Ezybox Softbox 30" x 2
    Lastolite Umbrella kit 40" x 1
    Various reflectors, snoots, gels, flags etc

Real Name
    Lex

I shoot mainly action with a pair of 580EX II remotes (at maximum zoom) on Pocket Wizard FlexTT5 radios and a 600EX-RT on the shoe (mounted atop the transmitting radio) for fill light. Gels are crucial for whatever flash application you have in mind. Since you can match the ambient white temperature, they make it much harder to tell that you added light. Auxiliary battery packs are critical to keeping the cycle speed up and makiing sure your lights can last a full night.

Mine's a pretty chunky setup - hard to maneuver - and partially driven by the need to switch between long-range action shooting and short range crowd portraits (post-bout celebrations) in seconds. But it gives me shots like this.

Real Name
    Richard

I basically use this setup for my dog portraits...