Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Help Choose an Ebook Cover for this Website

Re: Help Choose an Ebook Cover for this Website

I'm a point and shoot photographer. I keep promising myself that I will learn more about photography. Cover 2 is the one most likely to intrigue me and lead to buying the book.

Real Name
    Obasola Bamigbola

I love the simplicity of the fourth one with the photographer standing... 'Simplicity sells'

My first choice is number 1, it is eye catching but not overdone. My 2nd choice would be the 2nd picture of the light going through the lens because it is unique. The rest are average and you can find their style everywhere. The eye has been done before so might be "eye" catching but again a common cover type.

Hi, all...
    (waves)

I think that there's a lot to like about all of these covers. But I have to say, I would vote for the first one- or maybe the second one. Part of it is that I think the first one really conveys the message of the text (lots of images coming out of a camera.) But the other thing is... well... I design some book covers for indie authors, and I have a degree in graphic design. An expert I am NOT, but I feel that I do have to give my constructive opinion here. And placing the title all the way up at the top is not a look that I like very much. It's something that was much more commonly seen 20 or 30 years ago in professionally published books, and maybe that's why it just doesn't look that great today (IMHO, of course...)-- it's too dated. I would say that the bottom two designs are the worst offenders in this regard. Take a look on your bookshelf. Pick out the books published in the last few years. You will see very few that squash the title way up at the top.