Thread: Dog Photography - going from enthusiast to pro

Dog Photography - going from enthusiast to pro

Hi guys

I'm an enthusiast and passionate photographer totally in love with animals, the wife is hooked on dog training, agility and dog sports so we decided some months ago - let's try and do something with this.
    So we started a small week-end project (which maybe will become a business).
    I will start posting here some of our work, looking to get constructive criticism. Will be starting with one of the first shoots, about 6 months ago.
    Thanks in advance

Real Name
    John

Re: Dog Photography - going from enthusiast to pro

Very nice start. So what is the business,"pet portraits"?

Real Name
    Richard

Good luck with your new enterprise...

Thank you. The project is supposed to be pets photography (together with their families of course) and I'm working with my wife who is doing the actual handling of the dogs. Hard to call it business yet because it only 'ate' money and the photos we took so far were just to have a portfolio

The second photoshoot, this Feb/March was with a bullterrier of 4 months old:
    The image is part of this set posted on Flickr.

The set with more images of the boxer in the first post is here

I don't think it's worth posting all the images here, hope it is ok to put the links towards Flickr. Any critique is welcomed.

Real Name
    Andre Burger

Have a good look at Richard's (rpcrowe) doggy images. You will learn a lot from him.

Thank you for the advice. I have studied Richard's work long before creating the user on the forum

Real Name
    John

Quote Originally Posted by mihaich View Post
    Thank you. The project is supposed to be pets photography (together with their families of course) and I'm working with my wife who is doing the actual handling of the dogs. Hard to call it business yet because it only 'ate' money and the photos we took so far were just to have a portfolio