Thread: Night shooting in New York

Real Name
    Anthony

Night shooting in New York

Hello, everyone. I have some quick questions about night photography. I have never really done any, but I am going to New York tomorrow morning and was hoping to get some tips. What is the best ISO for night time city skyline shots? I have a Canon T3i. I know that I am going to need a higher ISO but I also don't want to risk too much noise. Are there any tips that you can give me that I might not think of? I am a moderately skilled photographer (i.e. I am comfortable with all the manual setting on my camera as well as many post processing techniques). I have a wide angel 10-22mm lens that I was planning on using.

Also, anyone of you who have been to New York have any recommendations as far as locations to shoot?

Thanks for the help.

Real Name
    Sachin

Re: Night shooting in New York

As far as for the location try the battery park or the exchange bridge in jersey city to get good views of the skyline..... Dont forget to take the Saturn island ferry to get some good pictures of the statue of liberty.

Make sure to carry your tripod because you will be using low shutter speeds to get good exposure by keeping your ISO low.

Real Name
    John

Also be sure to get some shots before, during, and after the sun sets.

Real Name
    Richard

Quote Originally Posted by sabcoolin View Post
    As far as for the location try the battery park or the exchange bridge in jersey city to get good views of the skyline..... Dont forget to take the Saturn island ferry to get some good pictures of the statue of liberty.
    The Ferry is a great value in an otherwise quite expensive venue. However, be careful of the turbulence when passing the "Rings of Saturn"