Thread: Noisy portrait of my wife

Real Name
    Claudio

Noisy portrait of my wife

Hi all..been away a while and unfortunately have not used camera much, and trust me i need all the practise i should be getting!! DOH!! So..this is one of my first very bad and really not sharp image i took of my wife..i thought ok..lemme play around a bit and i decided to add some noise... now please bare with me as i have no experience in portraits..so PLEASE any and all C+C welcome. i also wanted to know... which of the lenses between 35mm prime lens or the 55-200mm better for portraits? i read some place that the tele end seems to be more flattering to features? Thank goodness my wife is game for a few portraits now so im looking forward to any info supplied by u all. Its been difficult trying to convince her

This was taken with a 35mm prime lens at bit of a distance so i cropped in a bit to

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Noisy portrait of my wife

Hi Claudio – An interesting image, but not an interpretation that I would necessarily use. Classic profile pose that you have used does work for me.

The first thing that strikes me is that the image is significantly underexposed. There are a few highlights, but in general, the image fades right into the background. I note that you were shooting at ISO3200 at 1/30 sec at f/1.8. The most important thing that you need to do is have more light. When I download the image, and look at the histogram; the image is essentially jammed into the darkest 20%. This is going to make a noisy image (due to the high ISO setting) even noisier.