Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How much post-processing do you do?

Real Name
    Djoran

How much post-processing do you do?

Firstly, I'd like to say two things before expounding on the thread title's question.

1) I'm posting it in this forum category because I felt it was more casually oriented than what the "Image Post-Processing & Printing" forum category seems to be like. If that is wrong, then apologies and if you're a mod, feel free to do the work you're not paid to do and move it

2) I have very little experience in this so if it's a naive or seemingly stupid question, forgive me. At least I'll learn something from it.

Ok, so, I'm curious to know just how much post-processing people do and what is considered too much or too little. At what point does an image cease to be 'real' and become 'fake'? Is it crafted from the very moment of clicking through framing, aperture, lenses, filters, colour correction, white-balance, etc.? Or is there a point at which an image loses its value due to over-manipulation? Is it better to get the best photo possible at the location and do as little post-processing as possible or is there a balance between the original image and later manipulation which delivers the best result? Where's Wally (just checking to see if you've read this far)?

Personally, I hope to do as little post-processing as possible to achieve the most 'natural' and 'real' result. When I see soft water and smooth clouds and blended colours or models with all their blemishes removed, I kinda think it's a waste of what is already beautiful to begin with. Then again, that could be naive inexperience talking

Nomadic but not homeless, ex N.Z. now Aust.
    Real Name
    Paul

Re: How much post-processing do you do?