Thread: Focal length variation???

Real Name
    Pete

Focal length variation???

I've searched around and found nothing about this surprising discovery I made today.

I'm not very technically orientated and am at a loss to explain it and hoping some of the experience here might shine a light on the findings.

I'm off to Nepal at months end and was looking at light weight backpacking kit to take with me.

I ended up purcahsing an E series 100mm f2.8 to go with my 20mm (30mmFOV) and 35mm (50mm FOV) lenses (total weight for three lenses is 600g - a lot lighter than the more versatile Nikon 12-24 and 80-200 AF-S I contemplated lugging around which exceeds 2KG!)

The 100mm E series is a very nice little package with sharp images at 2.8, nice contrast and deep colours and not any bigger than my 50mm f1.4D (though lighter).

I was comparing it to my 18-105mm VR kit lens with the 18-105 at 105mm FL shooting on two separate D90 bodies and discovered that the FOV on the E series was noticably tighter than the 18-105 at 105mm when shooting a subject at about 1m away??? I had to move the sensor plane of the camera more than a foot to get the same FOV on the LCD screen. The 105 looked more like an 85mm than 105mm (seriously!). Even when the subject is at a good distance the FOV with the 100mm is still tighter, but less noticable.

The 18-105mm doesn't seem to suffer focus breathing very much so that is probably not part of the issue.

Could it be that the 18-105 is not really 105mm FL or could the 100mm be that much longer than 100mm FL (bearing in mind it was designed for Film bodies)?

I don't have access to home computer so can't post pics.

With the sensor planes being the same distance from the subject you could expect a similar FOV despite the phisical length of the lens, right?

Thanks for any thoughts,

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Focal length variation???