Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Refused Feathers

Real Name
    Krissy

Refused Feathers

Hi there, I was wondering if anyone could give me some clarity and advise on these pictures that were given the following feedback:

Refused Feathers

"Poor optical performance due to low lens quality, such as less fringing, chromatic aberrations, uneven sharpness in focus areas."

Refused Feathers

"Distorted pixels, image was interpolated, poorly scanned, unsampled, oversharpened or JPG was not saved at the highest quality. Poor lighting due to lighting conditions and/or camera limitations. Poor contrast or incorrect exposure."

Refused Feathers

"Poor optical performance due to low lens quality, such as less fringing, chromatic aberrations, uneven sharpness in focus areas."

Any ideas how I can correct these issues? Thanks so much for any guidance, again, I'm still learning and trying to figure out my camera!

Real Name
    John

Re: Refused Feathers

hi Krissy,

First thing, the photos look pretty good to me. These were shot with a point and shoot on a very challenging subject.

Regarding the comments, yes you will detect lens defects when you zoom in on the image and you can correct in post processing. Did you submit these for a contest or a review and is that where you received the feedback?

I suppose to some extent you are bound to have poor lens quality with that camera; if compared to someone using a £1,000 lens (without body) or even better.

However that sort of equipment is beyond the financial capabilities of most photographers so the comments are a little on the harsh side.

These shots have a limited area of sharp focus but we really need to know more information about how you shot and edited them. Including your uploading procedure.

What is your narrowest aperture lens setting? I see they were shot around F4/F5.6 which is too open for a normal DSLR lens but what are the limits with your camera?

Did you use a tripod?