Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: sRGB v Adobe RGB, Pro Photo etc..

Real Name
    Gary Marsh

sRGB v Adobe RGB, Pro Photo etc..

I am always being told by more experienced photographers out there that if I want the best colour quality I should shoot in Adobe RGB (1998) or whatever because I will get more of the colours within the gamut as opposed to the sRGB colour profile. I am no expert, photography is just my hobby, but from my experience of using both profiles I can't see any difference when I get them back from the printers and this is on a high end printer I must add.
    I only see the difference on my monitor when I am in editing mode and I switch between the two colour profiles Adobe RGB being much richer in colours but this doesn't extend to the final output, also when you are printing out an RGB image the CMYK colour gamut of the printer is smaller than the RGB colour space from what I have been told and this can make your Adobe RGB colour images look more muted.
    So my question to the experts out there is wouldn't it make more sense to just use sRGB and have done with it?

Regards
    Gary

Real Name
    Miltos

Re: sRGB v Adobe RGB, Pro Photo etc..

Well Gary the answer is yes and no...

Yes, in the end you always have to convert your image to the much narrower CMYK your printer supports or to the also narrower (but less) sRGB in order to upload it to the internet.

However shooting and post processing in ProPhoto (better than Adobe RGB) gives you much more flexibility when editing since you can alter colors, sharpen, blur, denoise and do all this kind of stuffs with less danger to introduce posterization and other artifacts and obtain smoother results in general.

Another parameter to keep in mind is that things might change in the future as we will probably have better printers.

Real Name
    Miltos