Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: That Door - Thoroughly Puzzled

Real Name
    Christina

That Door - Thoroughly Puzzled

I'm still learning to edit, and I sometimes practice on my own with the editing challenges, however I don't post my practice edits because they are really bad.

PP Challenge #17

This months challenge intrigued me because I had a fantastical vision of a pelican in flight carrying the door on it's back, and a view of a little boy on a boat through the open door. My final version ended up being a photo of just the door, which is now green, with a pelican across the middle of the door.

Challenges

1. How does one place a different photo in a specific position on another photo?

2. How does one re-size another photo to fit inside the door? ie; how do you measure the width of just the door in the photo so you know how to re size the photo you wish to place in the door?

3. When I tried using the eraser tool to erase parts of the photo, it left eraser marks on the photo? How does one eliminate the pink eraser marks? Is it better to select parts of the photo and delete the selection which leaves a white background?

Thank you.

Stockholm, Sweden (and sometimes Santiago de Cuba)
    Real Name
    Urban Domeij

Re: That Door - Thoroughly Puzzled

I think the clue is to use layers. You use a layer to put the foreign object into the other photo, and you can resize that layer. You can also decide what layer is in front and which one is background. You always work on the top layer. If you want to work on another layer, you can temporarily put the one you don't want to work on in the background.

Then when you want to eliminate parts of the layer, you erase just on that layer and leave the background photo as it is. There should not remain any eraser marks but the layer becomes "transparent" where you erased it. Then later in the process, you might have to "flatten" the image to make it a jpeg, and then it loses its layers and becomes one "solid" object.