Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Layer Order - Buddha Edit

Real Name
    Shane

Layer Order - Buddha Edit

I was just about finished an edit of Buddha here and got a bit confused about the layer order - specifically how and where to add the sharpening layers amongst these choices (screen shot below). I am a relative beginner with photoshop and I know this is probably a pretty basic question

I have applied curves and sharpening in the past with success but the addition of other layers is where I'm getting a bit messed up.

Here is the edited image:

And here is the screen grab of the layers:

The clone was used to take care of some sun spots and the mask/hue layer was to tone down the saturation and yellows in the background leaf.

Not sure which layer to copy for the sharpening as I believe that it should be the top most layer of the group. I did try by copying the clone layer and applying the unsharpen mask and then moving the layer around but all that seemed to happen was an overall darkening of the image - not what I was looking for!

I would be very happy to be educated and hear any and all editing suggestions.

Aloha and happy new year to all,

Shane

Real Name
    E. James

Re: Layer Order - Buddha Edit

I like to duplicate the background layer and sharpen it. The duplicate would be the second layer from the bottom but I don't think it makes any difference. Sharpening in a independent layer allows you to add a layer mask and select areas to be sharpened. Also, if it all goes very wrong, just delete the duplicate layer and start over.

Nomadic but not homeless, ex N.Z. now Aust.
    Real Name
    Paul

As the clone layer is not masked in anyway the background layer just contains the original photograph but forms no part of the current image. You can just sharpen the clone layer or make a copy of it and sharpen and mask if wanted as mentioned by Ed.