Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: From my window!

Real Name
    Robin

From my window!

From my window!

This photo got a few ticks in a mini competition.
    I know it has faults, like the right lower corner, too much of the corner of the room in it.
    However as I played with curves I could not get it "pop" for me.

I have done very little PP to it, didn't really want to crop it, was taken on 2 seconds on my little Ricoh P&S.

Still I did want it to "pop" and grab viewers attention.

Real Name
    John

Re: From my window!

Hi Robin,
    I can see where your coming from with this picture, you like it, as do I; but feel it needs 'something' more.

Hope you don't mind, I have had a little play with it in PP and this was my humble effort. I'm still learning when it comes to PP, so please it's not great just the best I could do with limited skills. If you would rather I had not posted this just let me know and I will remove it.
    Thanks for sharing, it's been an interesting learning curve for me.

From my window!

Real Name
    James

Here is another attempt to achieve what you are after. First I opened your JPEG in Adobe Camera RAW (am working with CS6) where I corrected the lens distortion and some perspective issues. Also took out a lot of the chromatic aberration and fringing in the sky. Then I made some general exposure adjustments, also in ACR - added contrast, dropped exposure a bit added clarity, a tad of vibrance. Then I opened in Photoshop. Here I made two general adjustments. I copied the layer (Ctrl/J on a PC) and changed the blend mode to soft light -