Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Focal length vs focal distance

Focal length vs focal distance

Hello. I'm a beginner in digital photography, so if someone could explain to me a difference between focal length and focal distance. Please, use the simplest words!

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Focal length vs focal distance

Hi there,

Welcome to the CiC forums, do drop by the Intro thread and tell us a bit about yourself if you get a chance.

I'll start with my simple idea and someone else will be along shortly with a more accurate and possibly technical answer.

Assuming we are talking at a practical camera and photographic level, rather than of the pure physics of light and lens, and keeping it simple, I would say;
    Focal Length means how much the image is apparently magnified (or not) when you take a picture. For example a "telephoto" lens will produce a camera image like looking through binoculars. Where as a "wide angle" will produce an image that shows more than you would see with the naked eye. In 35mm film camera terms a focal length of 50mm is considered to equate to what the naked eye sees. In theory, anything with a longer focal length will be telephoto, lets say 200mm. Going the other way, a 28mm will be a wide angle lens.

Focal distance means something quite specific at a technical level, but keeping it simple, I'd suggest you think of it as just being the distance between the camera and the subject you have focussed on. However, this isn't really that good a definition, so others views will differ, but it is going to be difficult to be more accurate without getting technical.

Have you tried the tutorial here?

Hope that helps,
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 30th September 2009 at 07:44 AM. Reason: Tweaking Dave's "Accent" ;)

Hi there and welcome.