Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Archiving your original files - which format?

Real Name
    Ian (the other one)

Archiving your original files - which format?

Firstly I'm not a pro, just an amateur petrified of losing his data...

I backup my original files (before and after any post processing) to three seperate hard disks - working in IT has taught me not to rely on a single hard disk...

The questions I have relate to the file format - I shoot in RAW and I'm concerned about future-proofing my data. Is there any value in converting the files from .NEF to .DNG for example?

It's reasonable to expect my .JPG files to be readable in the future, but if I want to absolutely sure I can re-process RAW data, can I be sure that the .NEF conversion for the backed-up (and thus older) data will still be working?

Food for thought...

Re: Archiving your original files - which format?

Good question!

I agree about 3 copies: also been working in IT long enough to know that the only people that have not lost data are either very young or very lucky. I take the view that data doesn't exist unless there are at least 2 copies (I don't wipe the memory card until the images are copied to a computer and backed up).