Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: 35 vs 50 mm

Real Name
    Uzma

35 vs 50 mm

Hi,
    Ok i need a lens...i have a Nikon D80 and other than the kit lens, i have a 18-200 , and a wide angle...the debate is i love close ups . Close ups of nature, faces etc. i am a novice so therefore not upgraded my camera but i want to buy one more lens...35mm,50 mm. Or ? ..would really appreciate some advice.
    Thanks in advance

Real Name
    Christopher

Re: 35 vs 50 mm

Hi Uzma,

the Nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF lens is the one to buy for portraits with D80. I use it on my D90. It is a fast and sharp lens, and is excellent value for money.

Ken Rockwell has a review of the lens here: http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/5018daf.htm

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

You already have the range of 18-200mm covered, so buying a 35mm or 50mm lens would duplicate a focal length you already have, so unless you have a special need for something in that range, duplicating a focal length that you already have would not be a place I would suggest that you put your money.

The 35mm is close to a "normal" lens for your camera, and would be okay as an unobtrusive walk-about lens for street photography, but in reality, your current lens is not all that obtrusive. The 50mm would be a very short telephoto. I personally find that the 50mm is a bit short for portraiture.

The "holes" in your range are at the wide angle (18mm is not all that wide) and at the longer end of the telephoto range (past 200mm). So a true wide angle; for instance the newly released Tokina 11-16mm with the built in motor would work on your camera and the price is in the same range as your existing 18-200mm lens , or a long telephoto, like the Sigma 150-500mm range (a fair bit more than the wide angle) would be where my intial thoughts would be.

Real Name
    Ted

Quote Originally Posted by Uzzfuzz View Post
    . . Close ups of nature, faces etc. . . .