Thread: Car Show - practicing manual exposure again

Real Name
    Terri

Car Show - practicing manual exposure again

If I'd known my husband was going to drag me to a car show, I'd have studied the Automobile 101 thread. But I took it as an opportunity to practice more shooting in Manual mode. As the cars drove in, it was excellent practice to think quickly on getting correct exposure going from such varying tones. I took over 250 images.

My successes: pretty good exposures in varying light conditions
    My failures: constantly forgetting to adjust the polarizer and constantly forgetting that the hood gets in the way when zooming out to 18-20mm

C&C welcome and appreciated

Real Name
    Sergio

Re: Car Show - practicing manual exposure again

Terri, I'm just a newbie so my opinion may not be worth much, but the exposures look great. The colors are so bright and vivid. Keep using manual. As far as I'm concerned you're dong a fine job.

I especially like #2 and #3.

Serge

Real Name
    Terri

Thanks, Serge, for taking the time to view and comment.

#3 is my favorite I think because it has a decent composition.

Real Name
    Sergio

Terri, I hope you don't mind me asking a question. What metering mode did you use and what did you meter off when taking these photos?

Thanks.

Serge

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Quote Originally Posted by terrib View Post
    My successes: pretty good exposures in varying light conditions
    My failures: constantly forgetting to adjust the polarizer and constantly forgetting that the hood gets in the way when zooming out to 18-20mm
    Once you reach this point of being able to critically appraise yourself and use it as learning, then you are on your way. And it shows in these images. I think it's a strong set.

The one I particularly like is