Thread: Just how good are these?

Real Name
    Ife.

Just how good are these?

Stumbled on this website by accident and in few hours, i have learned more about my little camera than i have for a whole year carrying it.
    Here is the crux of my post though. I am a student (and for me, it means extremely low budget). I use a 10mp canon 1000d with its kit lens(18-55) which does not autofocus(the ring only moves once and thats it, it freezes so i focus manually).
    Recently, someone gave me a Nissin 622 flash and a Sigma 70-300 lens. Happiest day of my life in recent times. My question now is that will these gear serve me well because i am hugely interested in photography. In school, i want to try make a few bucks on the side. I will mostly be shooting portraits and indoor events. Will my present possession allow me do those to optimum. Which lens will suit which scenario.(the lack of autofocus on the 18-55 lens is hell because i cant take pictures quickly like some events will require. the telephoto on the other hand may not be the best for indoors either).

How can i make the best of these?

(and if there are awfully-cheap preferrably used lenses, how can they be acquired.....?)
    Thank you all, i anticipate your replies.

Real Name
    Andrew

Re: Just how good are these?

A Canon 50mm 1.8 @ about $100USD brand new will be the best investment you make in a long time if you're interested in portraiture, and indoor shooting.

Plus, the prime lens is a great way to learn composition!! You're 70-300 lens is decent for portraiture as well, so long as you have enough room to use it - 70mm on a crop sensor camera is going to put you back at least 10-15 feet to get a head/shoulders shot, but they do take nice pictures. It will do absolutely nothing for you in low-light, indoor environment though.

Hope that helps you out!

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi cyracles (is that your name?)

Quote Originally Posted by cyracles