Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Need some imput: Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 - or the older 80-200 f/2.8

Real Name
    James

Need some imput: Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 - or the older 80-200 f/2.8

I have a question for all you experts out there. I have been looking at both of these lenses above and there is a huge price difference. Obviously you do get some bells and whistles (VR, ED glass, nano coating, etc) with the newer lens, but it also costs more that twice as much. You can still purchase the 80 - 200 new from many stores for around 1079.00, the latest and greatest is 2399.00. I shoot a Nikon d300 - I currently have the "kit" lens - the 18 - 200 with the vr and so on - has been a ok lens, but when you throw some glass in front it gets really slow, thus my desire for a faster lens. I am not a pro, but am moving in that direction - would like to shoot more events, etc. and just can't do this well with the lenses I have. I understand that this lens in not a "walking around" lens, and will require a mono-pod or tripod for best results. I would like some feedback from the community regarding these two lenses - my real question being is there enough difference between the two to justify the price? If I go with the high dollar version it means I wait twice as long to get the lens. Your thoughts would be appreciated much Thanks
    James

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Need some imput: Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 - or the older 80-200 f/2.8

I ran through the same dilema about a year ago, and ended up getting the newer 70-200mm, stabilized lens, and the more I shoot with it, the more I think I made the right decision. When I bought the lens, I was shooting with the D90, but was quite confident that I would be moving up to a full-frame camera sooner rather than later. I upgraded to the D800 back in the spring.