Thread: Are we training ourselves to be "distracted"?

Real Name
    Terri

Are we training ourselves to be "distracted"?

I am a relative newbie to evaluating images. It seems one of the most common comments that people make in C&C is to say something like "that piece of grass" or "that bit of light" or whatever "distracts" me. And then we all proceed to figure out how it can be cloned out or cropped out, etc.

Now, I'm not trying to rehash the argument of PP vs good initial composition. But I am wondering if because we can do so much in PP these days, if we are training ourselves to be distracted by things that we wouldn't normally be bothered by. I know I am inexperienced but so many times, I, the viewer, am not distracted by things that you guys point out. (I am referring to when I am viewing other people's work, not trying to evaluate my own). If the subject is clearly defined, is interesting to me and has sharp focus then those bits of grass around the edges don't bother me a bit... at least not yet.

Were the pros in the film days this picky?

Real Name
    Susana

Re: Are we training ourselves to be "distracted"?

It's funny that you just posted this because just this morning I was comparing one of my images (I'm at work now so can't post it) with the images in Brenda Tharp's book "Creative Nature and Outdoor Photography" and trying to figure out if she had any bits and pieces of branches in her compositions that don't belong, and she most definitely doesn't, so I came to the conclusion that either she moves things around onsite, or she clones it out in PP or she is incredibly lucky. I can most definitely say that I have never come across a composition that was perfect without any strenuous bits.