Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: HiTech ProStop 3.0ND color correction?

HiTech ProStop 3.0ND color correction?

I am brand new to working with ND filters, so I have no experience to compare this to, but in my test shooting (see below) it seems like this filter requires a very extreme push of the WB settings? Is there anybody that has worked with multi-stop ND filters that can help me to decide if these filters are just too far off for my camera? Has anyone used these filters with Nikon or some other camera manufacturer that can compare how these filters might work on different brands of sensors?

I recently picked up some HiTech ND ProStop filters, which I know have significant color shifts. I have also heard that the filters can be particularly difficult with Canon CMOS sensors. But despite knowing this, I decided to give them a try since its impossible to get my hands on a LEE Big Stopper anytime soon.

In my test shot of the ND 3.0 I setup the shot with a Passport Color check for white balance correction in post, and to compare the rendering of the colors between my non-filtered and filtered RAW test shots. Here is a summary of the setup:

Boths shots were with a Canon 5D3 mounted with the Canon 135mm f/2L and the white balance set to cloudy (Temp=6k, +6 Tint), as it was an overcast afternoon.

NON-Filterd settings:
    Av: 8.0
    ISO: 400
    Tv: 1/60

Filtered settings:
    Av: 8.0
    ISO: 400
    Tv: 30 second (10 stops) I did bracket the shots, and it was 10 stops exactly as it should be

In post processing, both images were sharpened using the "Sharpen - Scenic" preset, and had the Lens Profile adjustment enabled. Using the WB eyedropper on "nuetral" square on the Passport Color Checker on the NON-Filtered image called for the Temp to be shifted to 6450K (+450 from baseline camera setting) and the tint to be ****ed to +15 (+9 from baseline camera setting).