Thread: Total newb question about white balance...

Real Name
    Marie

Total newb question about white balance...

Okay, I have the hardest time understanding dealing white balance. I know I should know it and understand it but I read up on it and my mind goes blank. Is there some easy way to understand it? I had a picture that I had taken and loved, was proud of but someone stated that my white balance was off.

So...sorry for a question on something that seems so simple...

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Total newb question about white balance...

Hi Marie,

If you hold up a piece of white paper - and then shine a red light on it - would you agree that the "white" paper would then appear to be red? (even though it's "really white").

In a nutshell, the colour of the light that illuminates the things we photograph influences the colour of those things -- and a lot of the time that's a bad thing. And to make matters worse - the lights that we use all have different "colours" (eg if you put a fluorescent light next to an incandescent light you'd see that they were different colours -- and thus put out different coloured light - which in turn influences the colour of the objects that we're viewing). Making sense so far?

All white balancing does is apply a correction to our images to counter-act the effect of the colour of the light. If you shone a red light on your white paper you get red paper - but if we were to white balance a photo of that red paper, the software would add cyan to cancel out the red, making the white paper white again. Easy huh?